Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Knocking Over Pieces & Pressing Clock

  1. | #1
    Senior Member Firegoat7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Currently playing online chess at different locations.
    Posts
    3,355

    Knocking Over Pieces & Pressing Clock

    Hi,


    Playing Blitz. Player A goes to play a move then knocks pieces over. Q1 ) Should they incur a time penalty. When resetting pieces Player A uses left hand to set up pieces that were knocked over and then presses clock with other (right) hand. Q2 Is this a violation of the touch move rule, ie same hand etc

    Opinions?

    cheers,
    Ozchess died on the 7/4/2013- killed by Gatekeepers



  2. | #2
    Senior Member antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Byron Bay, NSW
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firegoat7 View Post
    Hi,


    Playing Blitz. Player A goes to play a move then knocks pieces over. Q1 ) Should they incur a time penalty. When resetting pieces Player A uses left hand to set up pieces that were knocked over and then presses clock with other (right) hand. Q2 Is this a violation of the touch move rule, ie same hand etc

    Opinions?

    cheers,
    Drunk A knocks B's glass of beer over, then with other hand fondles passing girl and gets face slapped - was it violation of touch move or was penalty unnecessary?

  3. | #3
    Immoderator Iconoclast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wollongong NSW
    Posts
    2,266

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firegoat7 View Post
    Q1 ) Should they incur a time penalty.
    No, because it is his precious time that he is using.
    When resetting pieces Player A uses left hand to set up pieces that were knocked over and then presses clock with other (right) hand. Q2 Is this a violation of the touch move rule, ie same hand etc
    No, because resetting pieces is not part of making a move - is is something that happens during the move.
    The individual is hopeless without the group.
    The group is hopeless without its individuals.

  4. | #4
    Tin Cup Champ 2004 Just2Good's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Cairns
    Posts
    7,105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firegoat7 View Post
    Hi,

    Playing Blitz. Player A goes to play a move then knocks pieces over. Q1 ) Should they incur a time penalty. When resetting pieces Player A uses left hand to set up pieces that were knocked over and then presses clock with other (right) hand. Q2 Is this a violation of the touch move rule, ie same hand etc

    Opinions?

    cheers,
    What is supposed to happen is the player who knocked over the pieces sets the pieces up again (with any hand) on their own time. That's fair enough.
    .
    "The fox knows many things, but the hedgehog knows one big thing."

    ~ Isaiah Berlin ~

  5. | #5
    Senior Member antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Byron Bay, NSW
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    what about if player B helps set up the board (as some pieces under chair under him) but sets board up wrongly, whose fault is it?
    Last edited by antichrist; 24-08-10 at 08:56 PM.

  6. | #6
    Siberian Chess Tiger Axiom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,927

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antichrist View Post
    what about if player B helps set up the board (as some pieces on chair under him) but sets board up wrongly, whose fault is it?
    The chair's .
    "Don't let the snow get down the back of your pants" ~ SCT

  7. | #7
    Senior Member Calvin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comeback Kid View Post
    What is supposed to happen is the player who knocked over the pieces sets the pieces up again (with any hand) on their own time. That's fair enough.
    I think that is correct and in accordance with ACF rules.

  8. | #8
    Tin Cup Champ 2004 Just2Good's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Cairns
    Posts
    7,105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    I think that is correct and in accordance with ACF rules.
    No it isn't.
    .
    "The fox knows many things, but the hedgehog knows one big thing."

    ~ Isaiah Berlin ~

  9. | #9
    Senior Member antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Byron Bay, NSW
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antichrist View Post
    what about if player B helps set up the board (as some pieces under chair under him) but sets board up wrongly, whose fault is it?

    okay ignore this scenario - I only brought it up coz it was a true scenario - go suck - at least over there Bill would answer even if it did come with an insult at no extra charge

  10. | #10
    Siberian Chess Tiger Axiom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,927

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antichrist View Post
    okay ignore this scenario - I only brought it up coz it was a true scenario - go suck - at least over there Bill would answer even if it did come with an insult at no extra charge
    Who the hell are you talking to ??
    "Don't let the snow get down the back of your pants" ~ SCT

  11. | #11
    Senior Member antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Byron Bay, NSW
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Axiom View Post
    Who the hell are you talking to ??
    well not you coz you would probably deduce that it was a conspiracy - the knocked over pieces, the knocked over flower vase, Lloyd Fell falling off the perch...

  12. | #12
    Siberian Chess Tiger Axiom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,927

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antichrist View Post
    well not you coz you would probably deduce that it was a conspiracy - the knocked over pieces, the knocked over flower vase, Lloyd Fell falling off the perch...
    sorry , my apologies .
    "Don't let the snow get down the back of your pants" ~ SCT

  13. | #13
    Tin Cup Champ 2004 Just2Good's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Cairns
    Posts
    7,105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Axiom View Post
    Who the hell are you talking to ??
    To the man in the wall. That's why the doctors have him taking meds. Hopefully the voices inside his head will stop.
    .
    "The fox knows many things, but the hedgehog knows one big thing."

    ~ Isaiah Berlin ~

  14. | #14
    Senior Member antichrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Byron Bay, NSW
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comeback Kid View Post
    To the man in the wall. That's why the doctors have him taking meds. Hopefully the voices inside his head will stop.
    I would deduce that the voices in poor uncle Lloyd's head has slowed down a little - understatement

  15. | #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    324

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comeback Kid View Post
    What is supposed to happen is the player who knocked over the pieces sets the pieces up again (with any hand) on their own time. That's fair enough.
    FIDE now penalise it with a forfeit (happened at WMSG in China two years ago).
    For private coaching (IM, four times Vic champion) email IgorGoldenberg@bluebottle.com
    Computer tells you what to play, a good coach explains why.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •